top of page

Lord, Send Me Anywhere & Summer Camp


Having the opportunity to minister in Eldora, Iowa, has also given me the opportunity to remember some of my childhood!


Located very near to Eldora, Iowa, is Camp Quaker Heights. Fellowship Baptist Church (the church I grew up in) used this camp a number of times. I came as a camper, when I was in elementary school.


The picture above is of the chapel building on the campsite. It still looks the same as it did back in the early 80's when I came as a camper.


One of the things that I remember most about this chapel is one of the songs that I heard for one of the first times. It is the song, Lord, Send Me Anywhere, based upon the words of missionary David Linvingstone and arranged by Frank Garlock (Majesty Music).

O Lord, since Thou hast died, To give Thyself for me, No sacrifice could be too greatFor me to make for Thee.
Lord, send me anywhere; Only go with me. Lay any burden on me; Only sustain me. Sever any tie, Save the tie that binds me to Thy heart. Lord Jesus, my King, I consecrate my life, Lord, to Thee.

I don't recall any of the decisions that I may have made as a camper during those years but I'll never forget that song and, as amazing (or not) as it may seem, here I am over 40 years later serving the Lord as a pastor and seeking to live those words each day.


My purpose in sharing this is to simply say...Never underestimate the importance of summer camp for our young people!


We may never see the "fruit" of the decisions that a young person makes at summer camp but we must remember:


For as the rain cometh down, and the snow from heaven, and returneth not thither, but watereth the earth, and maketh it bring forth and bud, that it may give seed to the sower, and bread to the eater: So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it. Isaiah 55:10-11

Keep encouraging our young people! Keep praying for them!


Until next time...Reach 1!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

No Gender?

I receive some of my news via Todd Starnes. I just received the following article from him: Presbyterian Church Offers ‘Glitter...

ความคิดเห็น


About Me

IMG_3487_edited.jpg

The Lord has allowed my wife and I the opportunity to serve Him, at South Charlotte Baptist Church, since 2000! It's been quite the journey. The longer I serve Him, the sweeter He grows!

Posts Archive

bottom of page