top of page

Apply Our Hearts to Wisdom



Recently, I had the opportunity to visit with one of our church members who was celebrating their 94th birthday! During our conversation, she mentioned the fact that she could remember the days, growing up, when her family did not have a telephone or have indoor plumbing! She told the story of, as the oldest child in the family, having the responsibility of emptying the "slop bucket" in the mornings. (That was the bucket the family would use at night if someone had to go to the bathroom!)

“So teach us to number our days, that we may apply our hearts unto wisdom.” Psalm 90:12

As I consider my conversation with this elderly church member, I was also reminded of some of the work that I’ve been doing on my own family’s genealogy. It occurred to me how little we appreciate our “elders” when we are younger. As I look through pictures of family members and am reminded of the family gatherings I attended and how I never wanted to hang around and listen to the “old people’s” conversations, I am realizing more and more just how much I missed out on. Now, I wish that I had just a little more time to speak with my grandparents, my father, my father-in-law, and others who are no longer with us.

 

As I think about Psalm 90:12, I believe that one way that we can apply our hearts to wisdom is by talking every opportunity that we have to listen to the older people in our lives and gleaning from their years of accumulated wisdom because, when they’re gone, that wisdom goes with them!

 

Until next time…reach 1!

43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

About Me

IMG_3487_edited.jpg

The Lord has allowed my wife and I the opportunity to serve Him, at South Charlotte Baptist Church, since 2000! It's been quite the journey. The longer I serve Him, the sweeter He grows!

Posts Archive

How can I pray for you?

Thanks for submitting!

Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page