top of page

Watertown to Milwaukee



My day started off at Maranatha Baptist University. I arrived by 8 AM, found the Welcome Center where I was to check in and got started. They allowed me to set up my display right in front of the cafeteria (excellent location!) so that I would be able to meet as many students as possible. Currently, MBU has about 450 students. To put that into some perspective, PCC has, this year, 100 students graduating with a degree in Education whereas MBU has a total of 100 students - freshman to senior - who are in the Education program. However, it is a good school and well worth the opportunity to get our name out to their students.




My strategy for the day was a simple one. I knew that I wasn't likely going to be able to physically speak, for any length of time, to many students so I simply wanted to "introduce" myself and the ministries of South Charlotte Baptist Church to as many students as possible. Therefore...






I stood at the main entrance to the cafeteria and passed out as many of these cards (pictures above) to students as they were walking through! (Go ahead and check out our "employment" website. Click here.)


You may be thinking, "Has anyone contacted you yet?" No, not yet. Your next question is likely, "So how do you know if recruitment has been worth it?" I answer this way, "Ask me in August on the first day of Teacher Orientation/Inservice." If we have all of our teaching spots filled at that point, it was a success!


As I mentioned in my previous post, Maranatha is the school that my brother graduated from and is also the school that I had planned to attend until the Lord turned me to PCC. As such, I still have a few connections at MBU.



Joel & Maegan Borchardt

This is my niece, her husband, and their children. Joel is the basketball coach at Tabernacle Christian School in Martinsville, IN. MBU was hosting a high school basketball tournament this weekend and Joel's team was a part of the tournament (and had won each of their games so far). It was good spending some time catching up with my niece while we watched a little bit of their game right before I left.



Dr. Tom Graham, Dean of the School of Education

Tom Graham and I were friends while at Pensacola Christian College. We both travelled for Neighborhood Bible Time the same year. We both served on staff at Pineland Baptist Church in Savannah, GA. And, we both lived in the same neighborhood (a block apart) in Pooler, GA, while serving at Pineland! From Savannah, the Lord took Tom and his family to Poplar Bluff, MO, to serve on a church staff and then, from there, to take his current position at MBU! We were able to have lunch and catch up.



Coach

Rob Thompson is currently the athletic director for Maranatha Baptist University (and the women's softball coach). However, to me, he will always, simply be, "Coach." He is originally from Marshalltown, IA. He graduated from the same Christian school I attended. He attended and graduated from Maranatha. The, he came back to Marshalltown where he served as the youth pastor of Fellowship Baptist Church and a teacher/coach at Central Iowa Christian Academy. He was my soccer and basketball coach (as well as my history teacher) when I was in high school. As we were finishing our conversation, I said to him, "Thank you for your investment in my life." He did teach me many wonderful "life" lessons for which I will always be grateful and thankful.



Mrs. Kelsey, Rachael, Benjamin, Esther, & Sarah

After leaving Watertown, I travelled to Milwaukee where I was able to spend about an hour catching up with the Kinyonga's and Mrs. Kelsey.


Most of you know that we financially support the Kinyonga's and Mrs. Kelsey. (Mrs. Kelsey is sent out of South Charlotte Baptist Church.) They serve as missionaries in the country of Tanzania, Africa. However, they are currently in the States due to Martha receiving treatment for cancer. In fact, Martha just recently had surgery to remove as much of the cancer as possible. Unfortunately, they were unable to remove it all and so they will soon be meeting with her oncologist to discuss the next steps in her cancer treatment. Martha, considering all that she has been through, looked very well and was in excellent spirits. After catching up and having prayer with them, I headed to my hotel for the night.


Until next time!




24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


About Me

IMG_3487_edited.jpg

The Lord has allowed my wife and I the opportunity to serve Him, at South Charlotte Baptist Church, since 2000! It's been quite the journey. The longer I serve Him, the sweeter He grows!

Posts Archive

bottom of page